google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html

Studio Weekly Schedule

 Revised 10/13/21 

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Marching Band - Drumline Camp begins August 20

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 1

Percussion Studio Schedule

•    Monday, Aug 30, Percussion Auditions for PE, WE, DSO, All majors should audition. 1-3PM, Rm 2234. 

                  Sign-up sheet is posted on band bulletin board outside my office. 

                   Repertoire includes three short prepared pieces on snare drum, marimba, and timpani, and sight-reading on those instruments.

•  Tues, Aug 31,  Private lessons begin, see GS schedule (site, media pull-down tab, for your time) This will also be emailed to you.

·     Tues, Aug 31 : PE-Studio Meeting Everyone, 3:30-5:00pm, Bliss 2326,

·      Thur, Sep 2 : PE- Studio Meeting Everyone, 3:30-5:00pm, Bliss 2326. 


·      Fri, Sep 3 - Percussion Seminar – all majors attend. 12-12:50PM, Bliss 2326, bring gum rubber practice pad and stand, Stick Control book 

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 2

PE - Tues, Sep 7, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

     Morgan - Forms Of Things Unknown (FOTU)

        movements: Amulet, Desiring, Ritual, Flow

PE - Thur, Sep 9, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

           Morgan - Forms Of Things Unknown (FOTU)

        movements: Ritual, Only Dance, Airy Nothing, Better Angels    

Seminar, Fri, Sep 10, 12-12:50PM, Bliss 2326,

       bring gum rubber practice pad and stand, Stone-Stick Control book 

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 3

PE - Tues, Sep 14, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

     Morgan - Forms Of Things Unknown (FOTU)

        mvts: Ritual, Flow, Only Dance

PE - Thur, Sep 16, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

    Morgan - Forms Of Things Unknown (FOTU)

        mvts: Desiring, Ritual, Flow, Better Angels

Seminar, Fri, Sep 17, 12-12:50PM  

 bring gum rubber practice pad and stand, Stone-Stick Control book

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 4 - Guest Artist week

Tues, Sep 21, PE- 3:30-5:00pm - Guest Artist-Ron Coulter, Improvisation Masterclass featuring the YSU Percussion Ensemble, 3:30-5pm, Bliss Hall rm 2326, Sponsored by Glenn Schaft and the Youngstown Percussion Collective, Perform Dave Morgan-Forms Of Things Unknown - mvts. Ritual, The Flow

PE - Thur, Sep 23, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

Morgan-Airy Nothing & Better Angels           

Seminar, Fri, Sep 24, 12-12:50PM 

Harrison & Davis - Vizcaino-Rumba Clave,  

bring gum rubber practice pad and stand, Stone-Stick Control and Peters-Intermediate Studies snare books   

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 5

PE - Tues, Sep 28, 3:30-5:00pm

    Colgrass - Three Brothers


PE - Thur, Sep 30, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

     Morgan - Better Angels, Airy Nothing 


Seminar, Fri, Oct 1, 12-12:50PM

   Callard - Major Scales in Cycle of Fifths, 2 octaves

   Volkert - Wilcoxon - Elyria Four Stroke

   Bork & Dorbish Duo - Peters - Intemediate SD Studies, I w. double bounce

  Davis & Schaft - Sabrina Malheiros-Cade Voce, drumset and congas

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 6

PE - Tues, Oct 5, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

      Everyone - 3:30-4pm

    4-5pm - Colgrass - Three Brothers


PE - Thur, Oct 7, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

   Morgan - Better Angels, Airy Nothing, Desiring

               

Seminar, Fri, Oct 8, 12-12:50PM 

    Dorbish - Peters-Int. SD Studies, I & II, metronome modes and phrasing

     Harrison & Davis - Vizcaino-Rumba Clave

    Callard & Davidson - Two Octave Scales

    Callard & TBA - Downfall SD parts 

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 7 -  

PE - Tues,Oct 12, 

3:30-4:30pm - Colgrass - Three Brothers

4:30 - Morgan - Desiring


PE - Thur, Oct 14, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

      Morgan - Better Angels, Airy Nothing, The Only Dance            

Seminar, Fri, Oct 15, 12-12:50PM

      Daniels - Heusgen - Trilogy - A Vision In A Dream

       Daniels - Peters - Yellow After The Rain

      Grabigel-Smith-Songs I-IV

   

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 8

PE - Tues, Oct 19, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


PE - Thur, Oct 21, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

               

Seminar, Fri, Oct 22, 12-12:50PM 


 Volkert-Peters-Int SD #IX-various roll speeds



•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 9 


PE - Tues, Oct 26, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


PE - Thur, Oct 28, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

               

Seminar, Fri, Oct 29, 12-12:50PM 


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 10

PE - Tues, Nov 2, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


PE - Thur, Nov 4, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

               

Seminar, Fri, Nov 5, 12-12:50PM 


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 11 - PASIC Week

PE - Tues, Nov 9, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


Wed Nov 10 - Sat Nov 13 is PASIC in Indianapolis. We will not hold YSU percussion events (lessons, PE, or Seminar) in order to facilitate your PASIC attendance.

           

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 12

PE - Tues, Nov 16, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


PE - Thur, Nov 18, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

               

Seminar, Fri, Nov 19, 12-12:50PM 

Pasquale Grasso, Guitar Guest Artist - Performs with Dave Morgan-bs & Glenn Schaft-dms, 12:30pm, Bliss Hall rm. 2222


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 13 - Thanksgiving Break Week


PE - Tues, Nov 23, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


No classes Nov 24-28


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 14 - PE Concert Week


PE - Tues, Nov 30, PE- 3-7pm, Ford Theater, Bliss Hall


PE - Wed, Dec 1, 7:30pm Concert, Ford Theater, Bliss Hall, Call time is 6:30pm

 

PE - Thur, Dec 2, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

               

Seminar, Fri, Dec 3, 12-12:50PM 


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

WEEK 15 - Last week of classes


PE - Tues, Dec 7, PE- 3:30-5:00pm


PE - Thur, Dec 9, PE- 3:30-5:00pm

               

Seminar, Fri, Dec 10, 12-12:50PM       

            

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••    

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Final Exam Week 


Percussion Juries - Monday, Dec 13, 10am-12:30pm, rm 2326

Submit the following before you play: One completed (personal info on top of form) Jury Comment Form for each jury member (available from Music Office) 

Committee will include Schaft & Gage.

10:00 am - 

10:12 - 

10:24 - 

10:36 - 

10:48 - 

11:00 -  

11:12 -

11:24 -

11:36 - 

11:48 - 

12:00pm - 

12:12 - 

12:24


Percussion Methods Final, Tues Dec 14, 10:30am-12:30pm,


PE Final Exam, Thur, Dec 16, 3:15-5:15pm

   1. Percussion keys

   2. percussion lockers

   3. Clean and reorganize facilities

   5. Review 2022 registrations

 

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••    

Standard Freshmen Jury Repertoire:

Marimba, 2-mallet: Peters – pgs. 34-90. Have stickings and tempi notated. Show progression of tempi.

 

Snare drum – Peters-Intermediate Studies.

  1. Etude IX – Triple Bounce Rolls, 1st nine measures, mezzo forte

                                1st time, quarter note = 80 BPM, sextuplet arm-speed based rolls

                                2nd time, quarter note = 120 BPM, four-base rolls

  1. Etude XI – Flams, alternated sticking, quarter note = 84 BPM
  2. Etude #6 – 3/8 meter duple/triple, alternated, dotted quarter note = 84 BPM

 

Timpani – Peters

  1. Pg. 35, Legato Etude #3, with tuning change, quarter note = 92 BPM
  2. Pg. 65, Muffling Etude #1, quarter note = 90 BPM
  3. Pg. 92, Roll Etude, quarter note =
    ADA Compliance                                                                                                          Glenn Schaft © 2008-2015