google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html

Richard Weiner

 Youngstown State University Percussion Studio


Richard Weiner

Percussion Masterclass

13 April 2014, Bliss Hall 2326, 7:30-9:30 PM


Repertoire To Be Selected From:

Cory Grant

·      Delecluse  - Douze Etudes pour Caisse-Clarie, Etude No. 1

·      Prokofiev- The Birth of Kije, from Lt. Kije Suite


Roger Lewis

·      Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 4, Mvt. IV - cymbals


Matt Hayes

·      Gershwin - Porgy and Bess


Moriah Placer

·      Rimsky-Korsakov – Scheherezade, Mvts. III & IV

·      Mozart – The Magic Flute


Troy Schaltenbrand

·      Delecluse - Keiskleriana I., Etude No. 8


Bryan Teeters 

·      Mozart – The Magic Flute

·      Shostakovich – Polka From the Golden Age

·      Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherezade


Perpetual Motion for Four Diverse Snare Drums (2011)                        Richard Weiner

·      Rich Weiner, Moriah Placer, Matt Hayes, Bryan Teeters

·      Bass Drum–Cory Grant, Cymbals–Troy Schaltenbrand,

·      Timpani – Roger Lewis


Richard Weiner is co-head of the Timpani and Percussion Department and was principal percussionist of The Cleveland Orchestra from 1968-2011, holding the Margaret Allen Ireland Chair. George Szell hired him in 1963. In 2011 he received The Cleveland Orchestra Distinguished Service Award. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Education from Temple University, a Master of Music degree with distinction from Indiana University, and a Juris Doctor, magna cum laude, from Cleveland State University. His teachers were Charles Owen and George Gaber and he was the first percussionist to receive the Performer's Certificate from Indiana University. His previous faculty appointments include Oberlin College. He was a member of the Aspen Festival Orchestra, 1962 and the Chautauqua Summer Symphony, 1964. He has toured the globe with The Cleveland Orchestra, performed on more than 175 recordings with Maestros Szell, Boulez, Maazel, Dohnányi, Welser Möst and Ashkenazy including the heralded recordings of The Cleveland Symphonic Winds, conducted by Frederick Fennell. He participated in over 100 World and U. S. premières. He is a contributing editor to the Symphonic Percussion column of Percussive Notes, a percussion clinician and a faculty member of the National Orchestra Institute. He has served as a seminar participant at the New World Symphony and has been soloist with The Cleveland Orchestra and various contemporary music organizations. He was appointed to the CIM faculty in 1963.


Thanks to the Dana School of Music for funding Mr. Weiner’s appearance. 

    ADA Compliance                                                                                                          Glenn Schaft © 2008-2015