google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html

PE - 2/22/16 Stambaugh Auditorium

Youngstown State University Percussion Ensemble

Ed Davis & Dustin May, Directors

22 February 2016

Stambaugh Auditorium, 8PM


Jam Box: Cajon Trio (for Nate #1 and Nate #2) (2008)                 Ron Coulter (b. 1979)


Featured Performers: Andy Hacker, Ryan Jones & Evan McCreary


Ron Coulter received his Bachelor’s degree and Master of Music Performance from the Youngstown State University Dana School of Music and is now the director of percussion studies at Casper College in Casper, WY.  Jam Box was composed while Coulter was director of percussion at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, IL and is dedicated to his students Nathan Staley and Nathan Kingery.



Slap Shift (1988)                                                                              J.B. Smith (b.1957)


Featured Performers:

Anthony Gill, Joel Gillespie, Lennon Sackela, Tracy Rusk, Noah Au, Levi Curry


J.B. Smith received the B.M. in music education from Baylor University where he studied with Dr. Larry Vanlandingham, the M.M. in percussion performance from the University of Illinois with Tom Siwe, and the D.M.A. in percussion from the University of North Texas with Robert Schietroma. Smith is currently Director of Percussion Studies at Arizona State University. Slap Shift is based on Afro-Cuban folkloric drumming rhythms.


Samba!                                                                                               Arr. Davis (b.1981)


Samba! is a medley of several traditional Brazilian rhythms including “Baião” from the Northeastern, Bahia region and “Batucada” from southern Brazilian regions of Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo.





Noah Au, Canfield, OH

Edward Butcher, Salem, OH

Zachary Connolly, Boardman, OH  

Levi Curry, Wexford, PA

Jesse DeLorenzo, Wampum, PA  

Anthony Gill, Vienna, OH

Joel Gillespie, East Liverpool, OH

Aaron Graneto, Canfield, OH

Sean Guerrieri, Struthers, OH  

Andy Hacker, Hubbard, OH

Ryan Jones, Youngstown, OH

Evan McCreary, Poland, OH

Nathan Negro, Wooster, OH

Tracy Rusk, Brookfield, OH

Lennon Sackela, Canfield, OH

Tommy Starr, Pittsburgh, PA

Anthony Tresky, Pittsburgh, PA

John Guido Vitullo, Austintown, OH


Glenn Schaft and the YSU Percussion Studio wish to thank Avedis Zildjian Cymbal Co., Remo Inc, Innovative Percussion Inc., and Black Swamp Percussion for their support. 

    ADA Compliance                                                                                                          Glenn Schaft © 2008-2015