google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html google-site-verification: google21591887d024d2e9.html

Studio Weekly Planner

Revised 3/16/20


NOTE - All Spring Semester Events have been cancelled effective 3/13/20

  •••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••        

Week 1


PE - Tues, Jan 14 

          Everyone meet at 3:30, semester planning, read keyboard pieces, 


Guest Artist Clinic - Darren Allen, Wed, Jan 15, 6-8pm, Bliss Hall 2326

   5pm setup

   6-8pm Clinic

       

PE - Thur, Jan 16 Everyone

            

Seminar, Fri, Jan 17, 12pm,4-mallet technique, bring 4 mallets and notebook


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 2


PE - Tues, Jan 21, Keyboard

    3:30 - Richardson-Transmigration

    4:15 - All Guats = Misterio, Guat Bella, Eve Prayer, Deep River, Espani Cani


Guest Artist Clinic - Tim Hampton, Wed, Jan 22, 6-8pm, Bliss Hall 2326

   5pm setup

   6-8pm Clinic, Brandon Maffitt-marimba

       

PE - Thur, Jan 23

    3:30-4:30 - Levitan - Septet, up to letter D

    4:30 - Richardson-Transmigration

             

Seminar, Fri, Jan 24, 12pm,  Daniels-Benson, Cretan Dance


Sat, Jan 25, Dana Audition Day #1

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 3 - OMEA Tour-Cincinnati, GS is on tour Wed-Sat, no private or group lessons this week


PE - Tues, Jan 28, Levitan-Septet

       

PE - Thur, Jan 30- no rehearsal

            

Seminar, Fri, Jan 31, 12pm - PE rehearsal, Maffitt-directs, work on Guats

    

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 4 - Vermin peeking out of hole week


PE - Tues, Feb 4 - Levitan-Septet

       

PE - Thur, Feb 6 - Levitan-Septet

          

Seminar, Fri, Feb 7, 11am-12:30, Jo’El Harrison-Gospel Drumset Clinic,

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 5 - Florist and Greeting Card Mega-Profit Week


PE - Tues, Feb 11 - Levitan - Septet 3:30-4:15, 4:15 Guats

       

PE - Thur, Feb 13 - Levitan - Septet 3:30-4:15, 4:15 Richardson - Transmigration

           

Seminar, Fri, Feb 14, 12pm,  Daniels-Three Dances, Boggs - Hatch-Furioso and Valse, Peters-Sea Refractions, PE-Levitan Septet

  

Sat, Feb 15, Dana Audition Day #2    

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 6 - Wind & Percussion Invitational Week


PE - Tues, Feb 18 - Levitan - Septet 3:30-4:15, 4:15 Guats

       

PE - Thur, Feb 20 , 3:30-4:10 - Richardson - Transmigration, 

     Levitan-Septet Dress Rehearsal: 4:30-5 PM, at Stambaugh Aud

      

Seminar, Fri, Feb 21, 12pm, Adams-Big Sid, Whitely - SD solo, Jones - SD solo, Bettenhausen-Sea Refractions


Fri, Feb 21, Wind & Percussion Invitational Stambaugh Aud.

 Glenn Schaft Clinic For Guest HS students- 1-3pm

  7:00 PM Concert, (arrive at 5:15 PM-Pizza Meal at Stambaugh)

   YSU Percussion Ensemble; Levitan-Septet

   Wadsworth HS Wind Ensemble, 

   Norwin HS Wind Ensemble (PA), 

    YSU Wind Ensemble

 

No group lessons on Friday.


Sat, Feb 22, Dana Audition Day #3

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 7


PE - Tues,  Feb 25, 3:30-4 - Richardson - Transmigration, 4-5 - Guats

       

PE - Thur, Feb 27, 3:30-4 - Richardson - Transmigration, 4-5 - Guats

           

Seminar, Fri, Feb 28, 12pm, Daniels-Hymn for Angelic Child, Ringold - drumset, Davis - drumset

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 8


PE - Tues, Mar 3 - Richardson - Transmigration, 4-5 - Guats

       

PE - Thur, Mar 5 - Colgrass - Three Brothers

            

Seminar, Fri, Mar 6, 12pm , Boggs-Furioso & Valse, Daniels-soft SD etude, Bettenhausen-SD, Richardson

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Spring Break March 7-15


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Everything in Bold Font is presently cancelled due to extended spring break into week 9 and YSU facility closings.


Week 9 - Green Beer Week


PE - Tues, Mar 17, Guats (Espana, Guatemala, Misterio, Deep River, Eve. Prayer) and Richardson

       

PE - Thur, Mar 19, Colgrass-Three Brothers

           

Seminar, Fri, Mar 20, 12pm - Espana Cani, Un Misterio, Guatemala Bella, Deep River, Eve Prayer, Richardson ?

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 10 - PE Butler Concert Week


PE - Tues, Mar 24 - Dress Rehearsal for Butler Concert - 

Repertoire = Levitan-Septet, Richardson-Transmigration, Guats (Espana Cani, Un Misterio, Guatemala Bella), Deep River 


PE - Wed, Mar 25, 11am load into Butler, 12:15 Concert, 12:50-1:30 return gear  

       

PE - Thur, Mar 26, 

          

Seminar, Fri, Mar 27, 12pm


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 11 - 


PE - Tues, Mar 31

       

PE - Thur, Apr 2

       

      

Seminar, Fri, Apr 3, 12pm


Guest Artist/Guitar - Zvonimir Tot w. Dave Morgan and Glenn Schaft, 2pm, rm 2222

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 12 - Wabbit Week


PE - Tues, Apr 7

       

PE - Thur, Apr 9

            

Seminar, Fri, 10, 12pm

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 13 - Tax Week


PE - Tues, Apr 14 

       

PE - Thur, Apr 16

            

Seminar, Fri, Apr 17, 12pm

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 14 - PE Ford Theater Week


PE - Tues, Apr 21 - Dress 3-7pm, Ford Theater 

 

PE Concert, Wed, April 22, 7:30pm, Ford Theater

      

PE - Thur, April 23 

4/23/20–Anthony Taddeo (YSU MM Candidate), Masters Recital, time tea

            

Seminar, Fri, Apr 24, 12pm


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Week 15 - last week of classes, Guest Artist Week


4/28/20–Anthony Taddeo (YSU MM Candidate), Guest Artist Drumset Clinic, 3:30-5pm, Bliss Hall room 2326, Free Admission, Sponsored by the Glenn Schaft and the Youngstown Percussion Collective 

       

4/30/20 - Ari Hoenig, Guest Artist Jazz Drummer from NYC. Bliss Hall, Rm. 2326 

     •3:30-4:30pm - Group Drumset Lesson, Lesson Fee Required. Contact Glenn Schaft for more info. 

     •5-7pm - Contemporary Rhythmic Devices for all Improvisers, Free Admission, Open To The Public.

        see AriHoenig.com for more info

         

Seminar, Fri, May 1, 12pm

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Final Exam Week 


Juries - Monday, May 4, 10am-12:30pm


PE Final Exam, Thur, May 7, 3:15-5:15pm

      

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

        

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

          

 Freshmen Jury Repertoire: TBA

       Marimba, 2-mallet: Peters – pgs. 34-90. Have stickings and tempi notated. Show progression of tempi.

 

Snare drum – Peters-Intermediate Studies.

  1. Etude IX – Triple Bounce Rolls, 1st nine measures, mezzo forte

                                1st time, quarter note = 80 BPM, sextuplet arm-speed based rolls

                                2nd time, quarter note = 120 BPM, four-base rolls

  1. Etude XI – Flams, alternated sticking, quarter note = 84 BPM
  2. Etude #6 – 3/8 meter duple/triple, alternated, dotted quarter note = 84 BPM

 

Timpani – Peters

  1. Pg. 35, Legato Etude #3, with tuning change, quarter note = 92 BPM
  2. Pg. 65, Muffling Etude #1, quarter note = 90 BPM
  3. Pg. 92, Roll Etude, quarter note = 11
    ADA Compliance                                                                                                          Glenn Schaft © 2008-2015